Newell Named ESS Nurse of the Year

HOME   >   Newell Named ESS Nurse of the Year

​Heidelberg resident Felecia Newell was recently selected Ellisville State School Nurse of the Year. The announcement was made at the ESS Nurses Appreciation Reception held on May 10 in honor of Nurses Week.

A U. S. Army veteran, Newell joined the ESS staff on March 7, 2016.  “I have been in nursing for eight years now,” said Newell. “Before then, I served active duty in the Army for nine years.”

Newell added that she has been interested in nursing ever since she was a young child. She recalled growing up in rural Jasper County and traveling with her mother as she visited and cared for people in her neighborhood.

“I enjoyed going with my mother and helping any way I could,” said Newell. “Nursing just came natural to me because it’s something I have always done. It’s something I love and enjoy.”

Pictured from left to right are: Kris Melvin Hudson, LPN; Georgia Jones, LPN; ESS Director Rinsey McSwain; Felecia Newell, LPN; Kourtnei Jones-Dumas, LPN: and ESS Nurse Chief Carol Dykes.  Not picture is LaJonna Bush, LPN.

According to ESS Nurse Chief Carol Dykes, Newell’s love for her profession is displayed in her attitude and work ethic. Dykes said Newell possesses a positive warm and cheerful attitude and has great attendance.

Dykes said that Newell takes care of her assigned duties and if she sees a co-worker in need of assistance, she doesn’t hesitate to offer a helping hand. She does whatever she can to ensure the people served receive the best care possible. Dykes stated that she was delighted to announce Newell as the ESS 2017 Nurse of the Year recipient.

Ellisville State School names a Nurse of the Year annually during the observance of National Nurses Week. Established in 1954, Nurses Week begins each year on May 6 and ends on May 12, the birthday of Florence Nightingale, the founder of modern nursing. The observance recognizes the invaluable work of nurses at hospitals, clinics, nursing homes, medical facilities, and medical offices across the country.

ESS Director Rinsey McSwain commended the nurses for their outstanding commitment and dedicated service. “On behalf of the people you serve, their families, administrators, doctors, and the Department of Mental Health, thank you for all you do,” she said. “You do a tremendous job. We salute you.”

Several other nurses were recognized for outstanding service in their departments. They were Kris Melvin Hudson, LPN, Waynesboro; Georgia Jones, LPN, Laurel; Kourtnei Jones-¬Dumas, LPN, Hattiesburg; and LaJonna  Bush, LPN, Lumberton.

“I can’t believe it,” said Newell after receiving special gifts to commemorate the honor. “I am just doing my job like the other nurses. Any one of them could have received this honor. I am truly grateful.”


Article Date:   6/1/2017   |   Expiration Date:   4/30/2018

View all news >>

  • 1101 Hwy 11 South
    Ellisville, MS 39437
  • 601.477.9384